What’s YOUR father’s “OYPoint?”

I was buying a shirt the other day and as I looked at the price I “heard” a sound –not a real sound but one emanating from an entire generation and now firmly implanted in my brain.  It was my father’s (and his father’s) “Oy” which I first heard while shopping w/ him as a kid.    

 This is his reaction to pretty much anything I talk about buying even when I do the “what you tell your father” discount of reducing the actual price by approximately 50%. This is because my father has established a cost of goods in his head that was set somewhere between 1940 and 1950 and has remained relatively unchanged.  I call this his “Oypoint”

 I think it almost killed him when I took him into a nice clothing store in Cape Cod where the first thing he walked by was a rack of socks for $18.  Next was a t-shirt that cost upwards of $30 (and by $30 I mean $60-even now I can’t tell you the real price). The “Oys” cam in so many successions that people in the store must have assumed a dog had wandered in and was in the process of being abused.

 I quickly ushered him out of the place and sat him on a bench with a $5 hot dog (ok $10 but w/ chips) and vowed never to shop with him again.

 It doesn’t matter. His OyPoint is forever in my head whenever I go to buy something.

 I’m attaching the table he made of his various “OyPoints” and when and how they were set. Note; Ralph Lauren and Whole Foods Stores would be sudden death for the man so I’ve asked others to make sure he never goes in there.

 Please also note my father will not see this posting because his technology “OyPoint” stopped dead at email.

 Evan’s OyPoints

Item

“Oypoint”

 “OyPoint” Cause

When Set

Car (used)

$35

Car he bought from Uncle Mike

 1952

Car (new)

$1800

First car: VW Bug

 1958

Shoes(casual)

$2-$5

Sneakers 

 1940-50

Shoes (dress)

$12

Cost of Clark Desert boot

 

House

$22K

His first house

 1964*

Dinner for 2 (Date)

$5

1st date at Toffinettes -42nd St. w/ Gail Anderson.Both ordered Salisbury Steak, surprised to be served hamburger.

 1949

College (1Yr)

@1K

Cornell tuition $600-1,000

 1950-54

Newspaper

 10c 

Daily News was 3 cents

 1940-50

Neck tie

 $2

Tie City “no tie over $2”

1952

Repaint car

 $29

Earl Scheib “any car any color $29”

?

Leave a comment